February 21, 2024

UK Warns Citizens Over Travelling To 22 States In Nigeria Over Security Issues

The United Kingdom Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) on Monday, updated its Travel Advice for Abuja from ‘Amber’ to ‘Green’ and advised against all but essential travel to Nigeria’s political capital.
In a statement made available to newsmen, the FCDO also warned British nationals to avoid 22 states in Nigeria.
“There continues to be a number of states in Nigeria where we advise British Nationals against all but essential travel,” the statement read.
“These include: Bauchi, Kano, Jigawa, Niger, Sokoto, Kogi, Abia, Plateau, Taraba, within 20km of the border with Niger in Kebbi State and non-riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa and Rivers States. We also advise against all travel to: Borno State, Yobe State, Adamawa State, Gombe State, Kaduna State, Katsina State, Zamfara state, and the riverine areas of Delta State, Bayelsa State, Rivers State, Akwa Ibom State and Cross River State.”
The FCDO said its travel advice is constantly reviewed to make sure it reflects the current situation in Abuja and Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *